How do typed words have verbal tone?

Someone show me what “passive aggressive” looks like on social media. What does anger look like? Are we just preconceiving these things based on what we want to think or is there actually tone in words that have no voice? Such a puzzling concept. Context is everything in words with no voice. If I say “I know” versus “I KNOW” does that somehow make the two different? Evidently for me if I capitalize something in a story, it portrays the person yelling. If I don’t capitalize it, it sounds vague and without emotion. If I say “I know!” then am I trying to say that in a rude way or is it more excitement? What if I say “I know?” it somehow portrays inconvenience for that person. But now days, in order to show you mean no harm, everybody wants a fake “Laugh out loud” at the end of something otherwise it will have some possible false sense of a tone that may have not been there at all. Yes, it is possible that the person when typing something is upset or has an attitude so their intentions when saying something over a text message can come off the same way they feel even though the people talking cannot even conceive that there is a possible attitude, anger, or even happiness. When someone tells you that there’s a heart shape on Pluto, it is only because it is your brain thinking that it just may be a heart shape and thus that is what you see. When people have pictures of people on mars, and the cover says “MARTIAN ON MARS” you probably think about an alien figure thus your brain is triggered by information you have stored in there that would look like an alien or a human shape figure. But it’s just a rock. The way your brain tricks you with also goes the same way with typed words that have no verbal expression. As far as I know – though as I type this in my head I have tone with the various degrees of ups and downs of reading effectively out loud- everyone should read a non verbal message with Ben Stein’s tone. There’s no emotion behind it. There’s no highs or lows. It is only plain. Though how you conceive what I type here is up to you how you think I sound. Am I upset? Do I sound rude? Do I sound happy? You wouldn’t know unless we were talking in person. Do my fingers have vocal abilities all of a sudden? Yes, I am aware the way a person types something can come off a certain way but if someone is talking in all caps, I wouldn’t assume they’re upset. Maybe they are. You wouldn’t know unless you took the time to ask and not assume their tone based off what you think it may or may not be. I personally don’t go around asking if there’s something wrong when someone gives me the vaguest answer ever. If I say to my friend “Let’s hang out tomorrow” and they say “Ok” I am not going to assume that they aren’t excited, and that they have an issue. In fact, I personally feel that is based off insecurities I personally would have if I thought that. If say something, and someone responds with something I already know: is it rude to say “I know” or do we need to compensate for the lack of tone by being more detailed in our responses. Ultimately yes, saying “I already know that, but thank you for the information” sounds better in our mind as we perceive how things are being said than “I know”. Why is there automatically an attitude or passive aggressiveness created in the shorter response? It’s like we’re having our own little conversations with our selves in our heads and we all think people always have an issue or are always mad. I personally would suggest unless people are visually typing words that are upsetting like calling people names, cussing, ranting about something, or wanting to kill someone that we should not assume their mood. But that’s the world we live in today. You cannot go about reading something without putting a tone to it because we are just replacing the Ben Stein inside of our messages with something that would be more suiting for what is being said. This is why people always think they’re arguing because no one is lightening Facebook up with some “LOL’s” that are probably fake and they’re not laughing at all nor do they think what’s being said is funny but so that the guy that gets offended by everything doesn’t take “I know” personally. It’s somehow best to give him false security to think you think everything is hilarious. In the words of Elsa, “Let it go” and just read what is being typed without always needing to add tone to it and then we all may get along easier. Assume exclamation marks and question marks are for excitement and questions. Not anger and attitudes.

2 thoughts on “How do typed words have verbal tone?

Leave a comment